JU Men: Six Dolphins Named to All-SoCon Teams

Written on . Posted in , , , .
  via JU press release   SPARTANBURG, S.C. – After contributing to its third Southern Conference postseason appearance in three years, the Jacksonville University men’s lacrosse team had six players earn seven postseason All-SoCon awards, as announced by the league Tuesday afternoon. Sophomore midfielder Jack Dolan and freshman defender Jordan Young were named to the First Team, while senior attackman Eric Applegate, redshirt-junior midfielder Evan Tyler, sophomore defender Dixon Smith, and freshman midfielder Zack Deaken all earned a spot on the Second Team. Young was also among five players from the league selected to the All-Freshman Team. “I couldn’t be happier for the six young men in our program who made the All-SoCon teams in a year where we have had the most individual talent in our conference to date,” commented head coach John Galloway. “Jack Dolan is having an All-American campaign as only a sophomore and will be a candidate for Offensive Player of the Year next spring. Jordan Young is only scratching the surface of his potential and was the only freshman to make First Team All-SoCon.” A native of Columbus, Ohio, Dolan had a breakout season leading the team with 52 points – a mark that matches the Dolphins’ single-season program points record. A two-way middie, Dolan also collected 23 ground balls and caused eight turnovers to help the Dolphins lead the SoCon and rank third nationally in caused turnovers per game. Named to the 2018 SB Nation/College Crosse All-Freshman Second Team, Dolan scored at least one point in all 14 of JU’s games, including a career-high eight-point performance (4 goals, 4 assists) in Jacksonville’s 19-12 win against Drexel and a seven-point effort (3g, 4a) against then-No. 1 Towson – a game the Dolphins lost by just two, 15-13. Making an immediate impact on defense, Young leads the team with 26 caused turnovers and is fifth on the team with 25 ground balls. One of two close defenders who routinely covers the opponents’ top attackmen, Young led the Dolphins’ defensive efforts with five ground balls and four caused turnovers in a 12-10 upset of league rival and then-No. 10 High Point. Added Galloway, “For those that know our team, our offense isn’t the same without our leaders in Evan Tyler and Eric Applegate. The heart and soul of our defense is led by underclassmen Dixon Smith and Zack Deaken. These guys embody who we want our program to be, and more importantly, they know that our goals are even greater as we embark on this weekend.” A two-time All-SoCon selection and 2018 SoCon All-Tournament Team pick, Applegate became the Dolphins’ all-time career leader in points and assists this season with 140 and 73, respectively. Third on the team with 43 points this season, the captain from Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. has been a catalyst for the Dolphins’ offense starting all 14 games and scoring in the past 23 contests dating back to the 2018 season. This season, Applegate posted career-highs in points (7) and assists (5) in Jacksonville’s 11-10 win over Furman. Scoring the game-winner in the Dolphins’ overtime win over High Point in the SoCon Tournament semifinal, Tyler has ridden that confidence through to this season. Second on the team with 47 points, Tyler has scored four points or more in six games and is set to become just the third player in program history to reach 50 or more points in a season. In the regular season finale, the Richmond, Va. native recorded a career-high eight points at Mercer to lead the Dolphins to a 20-12 win and ride a three-game win streak heading into the weekend’s SoCon Tournament. With his second consecutive appearance on the All-SoCon Second Team, Smith leads the Dolphins this season with 45 ground balls and is second on the team with 23 caused turnovers. In just two years, the Dallas, Texas native has collected 49 caused turnovers and 75 ground balls – good for third and 10th all-time in program history. Named to the 2018 SB Nation/College Crosse All-Freshman First Team a year ago, Smith has totaled multiple ground balls in all 14 games this season, including a pair of five-GB performances against then-No. 1 Towson and in the league opener at Bellmarine. Appearing in all 14 games this season, Deaken has contributed heavily on both the defensive end and in the Dolphins’ transition game. Hailing from Orangeville, Ontario, he is second on the team with 38 ground balls and third with 21 caused turnovers. Notably, the freshman picked up a season-high seven ground balls at VMI and collected five GBs in back-to-back games at the Crown Lacrosse Classic against then-No. 1 Towson and then-No. 4 Penn State. With the #4 seed in the SoCon Tournament, Jacksonville takes on tournament host, #1 seed, and 11th-nationally ranked High Point in the first of two semifinal games on Thursday, May 2 at HPU’s Vert Stadium. Opening faceoff is set for 5:30 p.m. For the full release from the SoCon, please visit SoConSports.com.
2019 Men’s Lacrosse All-SoCon Teams Offensive Player of the Year: Asher Nolting, High Point | A, So. Defensive Player of the Year: Brandon Jones, Air Force | D, Sr. Freshman of the Year: Riley Seay, Bellarmine | M Coach of the Year: Jon Torpey, High Point First Team All-SoCon A – Asher Nolting, High Point, So. A – Teddy Hatfield, Richmond, Sr. A – Ryan Lanchbury, Richmond, So. M – William Holcomb, Furman, Sr. M – Jack Dolan, Jacksonville, So. M – Mitch Savoca, Richmond, So. D – Brandon Jones, Air Force, Sr. D – Jordan Young, Jacksonville, Fr. D – Jason Reynolds, Richmond, So. D – Kyle Walsh, VMI, Sr. GK – Tim Troutner, Jr., High Point, Sr. FO – Trent Harper, Air Force, Sr. SSM – Roland Wheeler IV, Air Force, Sr. LSM – Sean Menges, Richmond, Jr. Second Team All-SoCon A – Trey Lervick, Air Force, Jr. A – Chris Young, High Point, R-Sr. A – Eric Applegate, Jacksonville, Sr. M – Jack Flynn, Air Force, Jr. M – Riley Seay, Bellarmine, Fr. M – Evan Tyler, Jacksonville, R-Jr. D – Quentin Carlile, Air Force, Fr. D – Josh Wehn, Bellarmine, Sr. D – Dixon Smith, Jacksonville, So. GK – Alex Van de Bovenkamp, Furman, Jr. FO – Ashton Wood, Mercer, Fr. SSM – Zack Deaken, Jacksonville, Fr. LSM – Michael O’Brien, Mercer, Jr. All-Freshman Team Quentin Carlile, Air Force, D Riley Seay, Bellarmine, m Hunter Vines, High Point, M Jordan Young, Jacksonville, D Sean Goldsmith, Mercer, A Ashton Wood, Mercer, FO