LB Alum Jared Bernhardt Named to the Final Five List for the Tewaaraton Trophy!

Written on . Posted in , , , .


via press release




WASHINGTON, May 14 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the five men’s and five women’s finalists for the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, presented annually to the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.  The presentation of the 2021 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton recipients will be made during halftime of the 5 p.m Premier Lacrosse League game between Whipsnakes and Chaos on June 5 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. The game will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network.

“We are incredibly proud of these talented student-athletes and all they’ve accomplished this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “We wish them the best of luck during this year’s NCAA Tournament and look forward to what will be an exciting announcement with our Premier Lacrosse League partners live on the field in Gillette Stadium.”

This year’s finalists feature two returning men’s finalists from 2019 in Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt (the 2021 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year) and Michael Sowers, who was a finalist two years ago with Princeton and was first-team All-ACC with Duke in 2021.  Additionally, Georgetown’s Jake Carraway was the Big East Attack Player of the Year, Chris Gray was the ACC’s Offensive Player of the Year, and Pat Kavanagh was first-team All-ACC.



On the women’s side, Jamie Ortega was the ACC’s Attacker of the Year, Taylor Moreno was the ACC’s Defender of the Year, and Charlotte North was first-team All-ACC, while Lizzie Colson was the Big Ten’s Defender of the Year and Izzy Scane was the Big Ten’s Attacker of the Year.

Men’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists:

Jared Bernhardt, Maryland – Sr., Attack
Jake Carraway, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Attack
Chris Gray, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Soph., Attack
Michael Sowers, Duke – Grad. Student, Attack

Women’s 2021 Tewaaraton Finalists:

Lizzie Colson, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Sr., Goalie
Charlotte North, Boston College – Sr., Attack
Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Jr., Attack

The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2021 college lacrosse season by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches who are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.  This year’s initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced March 11. Additions to the Watch Lists were announced on April 2, and the nominees. 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees were announced April 22.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation visit Please like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and
female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and USA Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in
Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations
of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The
Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

# # #

Media Contact

Sarah Aschenbach
The Tewaaraton Foundation