Skip to main content

Major League Lacrosse Announces 2019 Schedule Starting Date

  via MLL press release   BOSTON, MA – October 1, 2018 –  Major League Lacrosse (MLL) today announced its 2019 schedule start date with a further focus on its players. In an effort to better accommodate its rookies, and those MLL players who are currently NCAA coaches, the 2019 schedule will shift to a post Memorial Day start, beginning on Friday, May 31, 2019. “Since I joined MLL, I have made it a point to speak with as many of our players to learn more about their ideas to improve league play,” said Alexander Brown, commissioner of MLL. “By moving the season’s opener back from our traditional April start, we are allowing players to wrap up their other commitments before Opening Night. We are also thrilled that this upcoming rookie class will be able to join their teams at the start of the season.” MLL has made some significant advancements to the league during the 2018 offseason. Recently, MLL owners voted unanimously to approve three significant changes to the league, all designed to invest in its players and further enhance the quality of competition on the field. The owners voted to approve an increase in the salary cap, an expansion of the game schedule, and the addition of one player to the game day active roster (GDAR). “The new schedule start date better reflects the lifestyle of today’s MLL player,” saidColin Heacock, midfielder for the Chesapeake Bayhawks. “MLL leadership has clearly listened to the concerns of their players and made strides to address those concerns. The changes announced a few weeks ago were a good first step. This schedule shift shows continued commitment by the league. I am excited to get a full season with the Bayhawks’ rookie class in 2019.” The full 2019 MLL schedule will be released later this year. All other changes noted above have already been implemented, so MLL fans and sponsors will see the results before the start of the 2019 season. About Major League Lacrosse Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, is headquartered in Boston. MLL has led the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. In the spring of 2018, MLL entered into new leadership for the first time in 17 years when it selected Alexander Brown as the Commissioner. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, and Ohio Machine. Additional League Info Website: Instagram: Twitter: