Skip to main content

Tom Mariano, Tucker Durkin Earn Awards at MLL Honors

  via Launch web site, authored by Austin Lee.  Pictures via MLL.   The Florida Launch were well represented at the first ever MLL Honors in Frisco, Texas. During the ceremony, held the night before the MLL Championship game, Florida Launch co-captain Tucker Durkin and coach Tom Mariano won Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Veteran defenseman Tucker Durkin took home his first DPOY award after anchoring the Launch defense through the franchise’s best season in history. The Johns Hopkins product also picked up his fifth straight All-MLL team selection, an honor he has earned every season since entering the league.  
  Coach Mariano won the COTY award after leading the Launch to the franchise’s first playoff berth. Since taking the reigns, Mariano drafted one of the best rookie classes in recent history, swept two teams in the regular season (New York Lizards and Rochester Rattlers), and finished with a franchise best 8-7 record. Launch attackmen Kieran McArdle and Dylan Molloy were also nominated for Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively. Former Launch player and lacrosse legend Casey Powell was in attendance as well. Never miss a minute of the action by following the Launch on social media:  FacebookTwitter, and  Instagram.