Skip to main content

MIT and Pine Crest’s Harris Stolzenberg Named NEWMAC Co-Player of the Year!

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in , , .
via press release – photo via NEWMAC web site   BOSTON, Mass. – The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the 2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference team and major award winners of Tuesday afternoon. Following impressive seasons on the field, MIT’s Harris Stolzenberg and Springfield’s Brendan Dooley have been named the Co-Athletes of the Year. Dooley has earned this honor for the second consecutive season. Also earning major honors is Springfield goalkeeper, Jake Reynolds who was named the Defensive Player of the Year while Coast Guard’s Riley McNulty took home the Rookie of the Year nod. After leading the Cougars to one of their most successful seasons in program history, Clark head coach, Jeff Cohen was named the 2017 Coach of the Year. The 2017 NEWMAC All-Conference team consists of 14 First Team honorees and 13 Second Team winners. Those selections are listed below. New to the conference this year, the NEWMAC has established an All-Sportsmanship Team for the 2016-17 Academic Year. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. The eight Men’s Lacrosse All-Sportsmanship Team honorees are listed below.     2017 NEWMAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Team
Team Name Position Institution
First Team Harris Stolzenberg A MIT
First Team Nick Johnson A Clark University
First Team Graham Davis A MIT
First Team Riley McNulty M U.S. Coast Guard Academy
First Team Dom Abate M Springfield College
First Team Matt Morgan M Wheaton College
First Team Connor Eschmann D Springfield College
First Team Jack O’Donoghue D Babson College
First Team Christian Jamison D MIT
First Team Ryan MacNeil LSM Clark University
First Team Brendan Dooley SSD Springfield College
First Team Colin Cashin FO U.S. Coast Guard Academy
First Team Matthew LaCroix FO Springfield College
First Team Jake Reynolds GK Springfield College
Second Team Tom Hurley A Springfield College
Second Team Will Mandracchia A Clark University
Second Team Jack Vail A Springfield College
Second Team Isaac Bass M Clark University
Second Team Mitch Turley M MIT
Second Team Anthony Wyler M U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team AJ James D Clark University
Second Team Anthony Febbo D Springfield College
Second Team Tom Bleifuss D U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team Zach Cattaruzza LSM Babson College
Second Team Matthew Sullivan SSD Clark University
Second Team Bobby Philbin FO Clark University
Second Team Drew Riopelle-Tyrrell GK Clark University
2017 NEWMAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Sportsmanship Team
Name Institution
Cazey Buchholz Wheaton College
Blaise Curtis U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Daniel Terry Emerson College
Ryan McNeill Mass. Maritime Academy
Tim Cozens Springfield College
Isaac Bass Clark University
Thomas Burns MIT
Connor Flaherty Babson College