Skip to main content

UF: Heller Named to the Tewaaraton Top-25 Nominees List

via UF press release/website, by Corey Lichtman

She becomes the 21st Top-25 selection in program history

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – For the first time in her career, Senior Midfielder Emily Heller has been named a Tewaaraton Top-25 Nominee, announced Thursday afternoon. Heller becomes the 16th different player, and the 21st total top-25 nominee in school history for this prestigious award. 

The West Babylon, N.Y. native has displayed her ability to impact the game on the offensive and defensive side of the field. Heller has scored in all 15 games this season, registering 30 goals along with six assists on a .462 shot percentage. She has totaled three hat-tricks on the season, setting a career high six points at East Carolina on April 6. The fifth-year senior ranks first on the team in ground balls with 24 and is tied for first in caused turnovers with nine. The midfielder has also been a key contributor to a top five draw control unit in the nation, ranking second on the team with 24 draw controls.

Heller was named Inside Lacrosse/IWLCA Midseason All-American Second Team three weeks ago on March 28. She also became the 18th player in program history to score 100 career goals, and the third player in Florida history to have 200 draw controls, 100 goals and 100 ground balls in a career. The midfielder has tagged one AAC Player of the Week honor this season, along with three Honor Roll selections.

The selection committee will announce the five finalists for the Tewaaraton on May 9, with all finalists being invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 30 in Washington D.C. This is the fourth consecutive season the Gators have been represented with at least one top-25 nominee. Below is the Gators Tewaaraton award history.


Emily Heller2023, 20242024
Danielle Pavinelli2022, 2023, 20242022
Maggi Hall2024
Emma LoPinto2022, 20232023
Sarah Reznick2021, 2022, 20232023
Shannon Kavanagh2019, 2020, 20212021
Cara Trombetta2019, 2020, 20212021
Lindsey Ronbeck2017, 2018, 20192018, 2019
Haley Hicklen2017, 2018, 20192018
Sydney Pirreca2018, 2019
Shayna Pirreca2017, 2018
Sammi Burgess20172017
Caroline Fitzgerald2016, 20172016, 2017
Mollie Stevens2016, 20172017
Taylor Bresnahan2017
Nicole Graziano201620162016
Shannon Gilroy2013, 2014, 20152014, 20152014, 2015
Nora Barry2015
Kitty Cullen2011, 2012, 20132011, 2012, 2013
Brittany Dashiell2012, 201320122012
Mikey Meagher201320132013

25 Women’s Nominees:
Meghan Ball, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
Sydni Black, Loyola – Sr., Attack
Chase Boyle, Loyola – Jr., Midfield
Maddie Burns, Michigan – Sr., Defense
Kasey Choma, Notre Dame – Grad. Student, Midfield
Rachel Clark, Boston College – Jr., Attack
Erin Coykendall, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
Katie DeSimone, Duke – Sr., Attack
Katie Goodale, Syracuse – Sr., Defense
Emily Heller, Florida – Grad. Student, Midfield
Ellie Masera, Stony Brook – Sr., Midfield
Trinity McPherson, Denver – Grad. Student, Defense
Emily Nalls, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Defense
Erin O’Grady, Michigan – Jr., Goalie
Isabella Peterson, James Madison – Sr., Attack
Sydney Scales, Boston College – Sr., Defense
Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
Morgan Schwab, Virginia – Sr., Attack
Belle Smith, Boston College – Sr., Midfield
Jill Smith, Michigan – Jr., Attack
Cassidy Spilis, Rutgers – Grad. Student, Midfield
Emily Sterling, Maryland – Grad. Student, Goalie
Madison Taylor, Northwestern – Soph., Attack
Emma Tyrrell, Syracuse – Grad. Student, Attack
Jackie Wolak, Notre Dame – Grad. Student, Attack

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton
Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and
female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of
Elders and USA Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in
Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the
mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six nations of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Follow the Gators: