Skip to main content

Vero’s Abby Shields Named First Team All-ASun at Furman!

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in , , .
via press release – photo via Furman web site   Full List of All-Conference Teams Greenville, S.C. – Five different Paladins garnered ASUN Women’s Lacrosse Postseason Honors, it was announced by the league office on Wednesday evening at the ASUN Awards Banquet. Furman placed three athletes on the first team and two on the second team. Seniors Paige Gamble and Samathan Eckels were named first team All-ASUN for the second time in their careers. Gamble finished the regular season second on the team in points with 60, split almost perfectly between goals (29) and assists (31). Eckels, the preseason Defensive Player of the Year choice, finished the regular season as one of the most consistent defenders in the league, causing a team-high 19 turnovers and picking up a team-high 34 ground balls. Gamble and Eckels were joined on the ASUN first team by sophomore Abby Shields, a 2016 ASUN All-Freshman team selection, who finished the regular season with a team-high 64 points (37 goals, 27 assists). The Vero Beach, Fla., native, set a school single-game points record against Stetson, turning in five goals and five assists for 10 points. Senior Devon Horine was named to the All-ASUN second team. The Towson, Md., native turned in 22 goals on the year, including a team-high nine free-position goals. Horine was joined on the All-ASUN second team by goalie Maggie Friel, who earned second team honors for the second-consecutive season. Friel finished the year with 107 saves, including a school record 17 against Vanderbilt. Furman (11-6, 7-3 ASUN) opens the ASUN Tournament on Thursday as the No. 3 seed, taking on No. 6 seed Stetson (5-12, 5-5 ASUN) at 4:00 p.m. in D.B. Milne Field on the campus of Jacksonville University. The entire tournament is set to be streamed on ESPN3.