Skip to main content

2016 MLL Awards and Updates: Week 4

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release   Boston (May 17, 2016): Brodie Merrill’s 92-yard buzzer beater to force overtime went viral and the Blaze picked up their first team victory   Boston Cannons 13 Chesapeake Bayhawks 11   The Cannons outscored the Bayhawks 7-1 in the second quarter to hand Chesapeake its first loss of the season. Will Manny led the Cannons with 5 points while Joe Nardella went 13-of-20 from the faceoff. Tyler Fiorito made 20 saves in goal against his previous team. The Bayhawks had balanced scoring in the loss with four players scoring at least 2 goals and Joe Walters led the offense with 2 goals and 1 assist in the loss.   Charlotte Hounds 12 Florida Launch 10   The Hounds were down 7-4 at halftime, but used a 6-1 third quarter, including three straight goals from Stephen Keogh, to bounce back and keep their undefeated season intact. Lyle Thompson made his 2016 season debut for the Launch but was held to only one goal. Kieran McArdle tallied 5 points (4G, 1A) in the loss while John Haus led the Hounds with 7 points (4G, 3A).   Atlanta Blaze 23 Denver Outlaws 12   The Blaze picked up their first-ever victory with a dominating win over the Outlaws.  Atlanta outscored Denver 10-3 in the first quarter behind 3 goals from Randy Staats and never looked back. Staats tallied 9 points on the day (6G, 3A) while Kevin Rice added 8 points (5G, 3A) for the Blaze. Callum Crawford led the Outlaws with 6 points (3G, 3A) while Drew Snider and Jeremy Sieverts each tallied three goals and one assist.   Boston Cannons 15 Rochester Rattlers 14 (OT)   The Rattlers held the lead for the majority of the game, but the Cannons used a seven-point fourth quarter, capped off by a miraculous 92-yard heave by Brodie Merrill that found its way into the back of the net as time expired to force overtime. Davey Emala scored the game winner in overtime. Will Manny tallied 10 points (6G, 1 2-pt goal, 3A) to lead the Cannons while Jordan Wolf netted 5 goals to lead the Rattlers in the loss.   Ohio Machine 22 New York Lizards 10   The Lizards got off to a hot start due to Tommy Palasek’s first quarter hat trick, but the Machine answered quickly and handed New York its first loss of the season.  Ohio’s offense was dynamic again with Marcus Holman, Peter Baum, Brandon Mangan, and Mark Cockerton all scoring at least 3 goals. Tom Schreiber also led the team with six assists. Palasek finished the game 5 goals to lead the Lizards.   Coca-Cola Players of the Game   Will Manny, Boston Cannons (10G, 3A) *for two games, includes 2 two-pointers Randy Staats, Atlanta Blaze (6G, 3A) John Haus, Charlotte Hounds (4G, 3A) Tom Schreiber, Ohio Machine (2G, 6A)   Warrior Lacrosse Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week   Warrior Offensive Player of the Week: Will Manny, Boston Cannons 10 G, 2 two-pointers, 3 A, 15 points   Warrior Defensive Player of the Week: Brian Karalunas, Ohio Machine 1 G, 4 GB   Upcoming Games   Charlotte Hounds at New York Lizards Date: Saturday, May 21, 2016 Time: 5:00 PM EST Broadcast: Lax Sports Network   Atlanta Blaze at Florida Launch Date: Saturday, May 21, 2016 Time: 7:00 PM EST Broadcast: ESPN3   Ohio Machine at Boston Cannons Date: Saturday, May 21, 2016 Time: 7:00 PM EST Broadcast: Regional Syndicate Cable, ESPN3   Denver Outlaws at Chesapeake Bayhawks Date: Saturday, May 21, 2016 Time: 7:30 PM EST Broadcast: Lax Sports Network   2016 MLL SEMI-FINALS August 13, 2016 Blaine, MN || Fairfield, CT   Tickets On Sale Now! (–kZ7-_kjKVCCOtuP_LESZ3AOE3a0FEafAp70mvskBlkcZnZw6pkkZ-z8QsJer_PfaxVSpIw7aRDgPYiqGB9CO6pAe2gXE0mvfARU_GFPPvyGt16-Y&_hsmi=29656214)   When you book your hotel, be sure to stay where the players stay! All MLL fans traveling to CT for the Semi-Final, use our MLL Fan room block for a discount and stay at the Trumbull Marriott Merritt Parkway.   CLICK HERE ( for the discount!   Please visit our website   (–vTc6loiMgbUa6QwWyv8ekeHrpnkcApcoCn7ZnEEBafwnNKmgAxKF4scpEkfpLgKEJdgiAJ1rEjH-qT6sKsXqS_mM-lQC48KcbNCpfQ92iOsR4uFI&_hsmi=29656214)  for more information regarding tickets, times, and hotel information.   About Major League Lacrosse   Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. Major League Lacrosse has recently concluded its fifteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake 1818Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.   Follow us on…   Facebook: Twitter: @MLL_Lacrosse Instagram: @MajorLeagueLax SnapChat: MajorLeagueLax YouTube: