Denver Outlaws Win 2016 MLL Championship!

Written on . Posted in .
via MLL press release   Atlanta, GA (August 20, 2016)– After a 90-minute weather delay due to lightning in the area, the Denver Outlaws stormed back from an early deficit to win the 2016 MLL Championship, 19-18 over the Ohio Machine at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University. Coca-Cola Championship MVP, attackman Eric Law, scored the game-winning goal with 13 seconds left in the game. Law finished with 5 goals and 3 assists. Midfielder Kyle Harrison kicked off the scoring for the Machine to start the game 1-0. The Outlaws and Machine traded goals before the Machine ended the quarter on a four-goal run to extend their lead 6-2. Faceoff specialist Tom Kelly won the opening faceoff of the second quarter and scored off the fast break to cut the lead to three. The Machine then scored three straight goals from Peter Baum, Steele Stanwick, and Tom Schreiber to make it 9-3. Thunder and lightning rolled into the area and delayed the game for over an hour and a half during the second quarter. Once the water was cleared from the field, play resumed. The Outlaws went on a 4-0 run to cut the deficit to two, but the Machine ended the quarter with a 5-0 run of their own. Marcus Holman and Schreiber scored twice in the run while Stanwick added another. The Machine led 14-7 at halftime. After a shortened halftime, the Outlaws came out firing in the 3rd quarter and outscored the Machine 8-1. Law added three goals and midfielder Drew Snider scored twice while Matt Kavanagh and Greg Downing each added a goal. The quarter goal differential was the largest in MLL Championship history. Denver kept the momentum in the fourth quarter with three quick goals from Wes Berg, who scored twice, and Kavanagh. Ohio rallied back, scoring three straight goals of their own behind Holman, John Grant Jr., and Jake Bernhardt. Grant’s second goal of the game set the MLL playoff career goal record at 30 goals, passing Josh Simsat 29 goals. The game was tied until late in the 4th quarter when Jeremy Sieverts found Eric Lawfor the game winning goal with 13 seconds left in the game. The Outlaws held on to win, 19-18. The game was Denver’s sixth MLL Championship appearance in eleven years as a team. The Outlaws also won the MLL Championship in 2014 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University.