Skip to main content

FSC Men: Moccasins Name Captains for 2017

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release – photo via FSC web site   LAKELAND, FL – Florida Southern College men’s lacrosse has named its five captains for the upcoming 2017 season, head coach Marty Ward announced on Tuesday. Seniors Cody Dyer, Matt Lalli and Connor MacGregor will serve as captains along with juniors Lucas Claude and Cody Gray. The five were chosen as captains by their teammates and coaches. “We look forward to the leadership provided by each captain this season to push our program to the next level,” said Ward. We are extremely excited for the 2017 season to get started.” Claude and Lalli earned first team all-Sunshine State Conference honors a year ago. Claude led the Moccasins in goals (42) and points (67) last year, while finishing tied for the team lead with 25 assists. Lalli, who earned three SSC Defensive Player of the Week honors as a junior, led the conference and ranked 11th nationally in saves per game (12.0) and made 216 total saves while picking up nine wins in goal. MacGregor played in 19 games a year ago and made eight starts. He finished with 22 ground balls and forced eight turnovers as a junior. Dyer and Gray were second team all-SSC selections in 2016. Dyer was also named to the all-tournament team at the conference tournament after scoring three goals and dishing out an assist in the SSC semifinals against No. 5 Tampa. He tied for second on the team with 33 goals last year, and was third in points with 49. Gray finished second in points (52), third in goals (27) and tied for the team lead with 25 assists as a sophomore. The Moccasins kick off the 2017 campaign on Monday, Feb. 6 with a 2 p.m. contest against LIU-Post. Florida Southern will play seven home games in 2017, its final season at Bryant Stadium.