MLL: 2016 Warrior Defensive Players of the Year: Mike Manley & Joel White

Written on . Posted in .
via MLL press release  
BOSTON (August 16, 2016) – Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced today that Rochester Rattlers defensemen  Mike Manley and  Joel White have been named the 2016 Warrior Defensive Players of the Year, as voted on by MLL coaches and general managers. This marks the first time in League history that two players have tied for the Defensive Player of the Year honors. Manley and White anchored the Rochester defense along with 2016 Brine Goalie of the Year,  John Galloway. Manley and White were crucial components to the Rattlers team that allowed a League best 167 goals against. Manley appeared in 11 games for the Rattlers in the 2016 season and racked up 30 groundballs, 10 caused turnovers and five goals. In Week 9, Manley added four groundballs in the Rochester 19-11 win over the Denver Outlaws and was named the Warrior Defensive Player of the Week. Well-known in the League for his strong defense, Manley was also named the 2014 Warrior Defensive Player of the Year. White appeared in 11 games for the Rattlers in the 2016 season and picked up 65 groundballs to be ranked second on the team. He also caused 13 turnovers and tallied seven points off one goal and six assists. In Week 6, White racked up six groundballs and tallied an assist in the Rochester 18-14 win over the Chesapeake Bayhawks and was named the Warrior Defensive Player of the Week. Finishing just four points behind  Manley and White in the voting was Atlanta Blaze long-stick midfielder,  Scott Ratliff, with 18 points total.  Jackson Place from the Ohio Machine finished third in the voting with 14 points.
Warrior Defensive Player of the Year Voting Results The 2016 Warrior Defensive Player of the Year is determined based on the total number of points each player receives. Every vote is assigned a point total, with first place receiving five points, second place receiving three points and third place receiving one point. First place = 5 points Second place = 3 points Third place = 1 point Defensive POY voting   Defensive Player of the Year History 2001: Rob Doerr (Baltimore Bayhawks) 2002: Christian Cook (New Jersey Pride) 2003: Ryan Curtis (Boston Cannons) 2004: Nicky Polanco (Philadelphia Barrage) 2005: Nicky Polanco (Long Island Lizards) 2006: Brodie Merrill (Rochester Rattlers) 2007: Brodie Merrill (Rochester Rattlers) 2008: Brodie Merrill (Rochester Rattlers) 2009: Brodie Merrill (Toronto Nationals) 2010: Brodie Merrill (Toronto Nationals) 2011: Brodie Merrill (Hamilton Nationals) 2012: Lee Zink (Denver Outlaws) 2013: Lee Zink (Denver Outlaws) 2014: Michael Manley (Rochester Rattlers) 2015: Joe Fletcher (New York Lizards) About Warrior Headquartered in Warren, Michigan, Warrior is recognized as a premier manufacturer of innovative, high performance, cutting-edge equipment, footwear and apparel for lacrosse and hockey athletes of all ages and abilities. Founded in 1992 by former champion lacrosse player David Morrow, Warrior is dedicated to a core set of principles: technical superiority, grassroots marketing, original and creative youthful expression and strong partnerships with retailers and suppliers. For more information please visit