SA’s Tony Seaman Elected Into IMLCA Hall of Fame!

Written on . Posted in .
Via press release.  Photo from IL Preps Tweet.   Congrats to Coach Seaman on this accomplishment!   IMLCA Announces Second Hall of Fame Lacrosse Class   BTL AdForestdale, MA (August 2, 2016) — The Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) today announced its second Hall of Fame class. The inductees are Bud Beardmore (Hobart, Virginia, Maryland), Henry Ciccarone Sr. (Johns Hopkins), Paul Doherty (Adelphi), Howdy Myers (Johns Hopkins, Hofstra), Renzie Lamb (Williams), Jerry Schmidt (Hobart, Navy, Princeton), Willie Scroggs (North Carolina), Tony Seaman (C.W. Post, Penn, Johns Hopkins, Towson) “The IMLCA Hall of Fame quickly has become a wonderful reflection of the history of our great game,” said J.B. Clarke, IMLCA president and head coach at Limestone College. “It is our collective honor as today’s coaches to introduce the second class of inductees who enjoyed tremendous success at schools in all three NCAA Divisions as well as during the USILA championship years prior to the establishment of the NCAA championships.” The inductees were selected by the IMLCA Hall of Fame Committee comprised of Tom Gill, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (chair), Fred Acee (retired), Jack Emmer (retired), Mike Murphy (Colgate), Don Zimmerman (retired), Dan Sheehan (LeMoyne), Tom Leanos (Drew). The IMLCA Hall of Fame celebration will take place Friday, December 9 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel in conjunction with the IMLCA Annual Convention. Ticket and general information will be available in late August. The inaugural inductees of the IMLCA Hall of Fame were Fred Acee (Farmingdale and Air Force), Jim “Ace” Adams (Army, Penn and Virginia), Willis Bilderback (Navy), Dick Edell (Baltimore, Army and Maryland), Jack Emmer (Cortland, Washington & Lee and Army), Richard F Garber (Massachusetts), Richie Moran (Cornell), Robert (Bob) H. Scott (Johns Hopkins), Roy Simmons Jr. (Syracuse), Richard Speckmann (Nassau) and Dave Urick (Hobart and Georgetown).   Tony Seaman C.W. Post, Penn, Johns Hopkins, Towson During a coaching career that spanned 30 years Tony Seaman became one of college lacrosse’s most successful, decorated and recognizable coaches of his era. He amassed a 263-166 record, which currently ranks him 22nd among college lacrosse coaches all-time. His record included 19 trips to the NCAA Tournament and nine conference titles. Coach Seaman began his career at C.W. Post (13-3) in 1982, the Pioneers’ first season of Division I competition. He was then hired as the University of Pennsylvania’s 19th head coach, enjoying success almost immediately while compiling a 74-37 record. In 1991 he began an eight-year stint at Johns Hopkins where he accumulated a 77-33 record including eight straight NCAA berths advancing to the semifinals four times. His 1995 team was a perfect 12-0 in the regular season. Towson was his final stop where he led the Tigers from 1999-2011 with a 99-93 record. He steered the Tigers into the NCAA post-season five times, winning four conference titles and as many league coach of the year awards along the way.