Tampa Earns #3 Seed in NCAA D2 Southern Bracket

Written on . Posted in .
via press release   INDIANAPOLIS – For the third consecutive season, the University of Tampa men’s lacrosse team has been part of the field of eight competing in the NCAA Division II Men’s Lacrosse Tournament. The Spartans are one of four teams selected to represent the South Region, and picked up a three seed. UT will meet No. 2 Mercyhurst on May 14 in Erie, Pa. The time of the game has yet to be announced. The winner of the Tampa-Mercyhurst showdown will meet the winner of the No. 1 Limestone and No. 4 Mount Olive game. The national semifinals are slated for May 22 at campus sites, followed by the national championship game on May 29 in Philadelphia. The 14-2 Spartans are coming off their third straight Sunshine State Conference Tournament championship, rolling through the tournament with wins over Florida Southern (15-9) and Rollins (16-7). Overall, UT has won four straight since falling by an 11-5 score at Mercyhurst on April 9. The high-powered Spartans have a host of offensive weapons, including freshman Andrew Kew (56 g), SSC Player of the Year Conor Whipple (45 g, 47 a), Jake Schmidt (30 g, 12 a), Mike Morris (29 g) and Matt Bilak (15 g). Mercyhurst, now 15-2, is coming off an 11-7 win over Lindenwood in the Eastern College Athletic Conference Tournament title game.  Freshman Kurtis Woodland recorded three goals and three assists and was named the ECAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player. The Lakers are riding an eight game winning streak into the tournament. This marks the third straight NCAA tournament appearance for the Spartans, who defeated Mercyhurst in the 2014 quarterfinals in Tampa. For complete information on UT men’s lacrosse, please visit TampaSpartans.com. Complete NCAA Division II men’s lacrosse bracket