Skip to main content

UT: Women’s Lacrosse Selected to Finish Fourth in SSC Preseason Poll

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release – photo via UT web site   MELBOURNE. Fla. – The University of Tampa women’s lacrosse team was selected to finish No. 4 in the Sunshine State Conference Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Coaches’ Poll as announced Tuesday by the conference office. Florida Southern College has been selected the SSC women’s lacrosse preseason favorite for 2017. The 2016 national champions received 16 total votes and all four possible first place votes from opposing coaches. Rollins College finished second in poll voting with 13 total votes and the remaining first place vote. Florida Tech sits third in the poll with 10 total votes. University of Tampa and Saint Leo University round out the poll at fourth and fifth. Florida Southern (19-3, 4-0) swept the SSC last year on their way to a second regular season championship. The Moccasins then capture their first conference post-season championship and regional championship. In the national tournament, FSC dethroned two-time reigning national champion Adelphi, 8-7, in last year’s national championship game. The Moccasins’ title was the first ever for a school from outside of New York, Massachusetts, or Pennsylvania. FSC is just the fifth team to win a national title in the 16-year history of Division II women’s lacrosse. Florida Southern closed out the 2016 campaign by winning a school record 14 consecutive games. Rollins (15-4, 3-1) rounded out 2016 by advancing to the NCAA tournament for a fourth time in five years. The Tars defeated West Chester, 9-8, advancing to the national quarterfinals for the second time in program history. Rollins was defeated, 8-5, by Florida Southern to end the season. The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) and Lacrosse Magazine have Florida Southern ranked No. 1 heading into the 2017 season. Rollins is ranked No. 6 in both polls. Sunshine State Conference play opens up on February 8 with Rollins hosting Tampa. The SSC Championship will take place on April 28th and 30th at a non-predetermined site. The NCAA Division II postseason for Women’s Lacrosse begins on May 12th at non-predetermined sites and concludes May 21st at BU Sports Stadium in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania.
Rank 1 2 3 4 5 School (FPV) Florida Southern (4) Rollins (1) Florida Tech Tampa Saint Leo Total Votes 16 13 10 7 4