Skip to main content

All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Selections for 2017

via press release – photo via SSC web site   MELBOURNE, Fla. – University of Tampa, Sunshine State Conference Regular Season Champions, boasts 13 All-SSC awards. In all, 41 student-athletes were recognized in the fourth year of Sunshine State Conference men’s lacrosse. Voting for the All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league’s head coaches. Conor Whipple of the University of Tampa is named Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year for the third time in his career. Whipple, a senior from Tampa, becomes the ninth SSC athlete to win a Player of the Year award three times1. Whipple leads the SSC and the nation in Points per Game (5.33) and Assists per Game (3.20). In conference, Whipple is also Top-5 in Goals (32), Shots (114) and Shots per Game (7.60) All-SSC History: SSC Players and Coaches of the Year | All-SSC Teams Dryden Brous of Lynn University is named Freshman of the Year. Brous won 131 of 192 faceoffs for a .682 winning percentage during the regular season. He ranks first in the SSC and fifth nationally in Faceoff Winning Percentage. The Ocean City, Maryland product is the first Fighting Knight athlete to win a SSC men’s lacrosse individual award. SSC coaches voted Rory Whipple Coach of the Year for a third time2. The Tampa skipper earns the honor after going 5-0 in the SSC and 12-4 overall in 2017. Whipple has compiled a 55-13 overall record in the last four seasons and is undefeated in SSC play since men’s lacrosse was adopted as a league sport in 2014. This year, he became the All-Time winningest coach in NCAA Division II history. Conor Whipple repeats as a first team honoree for a fourth consecutive year. He is the first SSC men’s lacrosse athlete to reach this achievement. Marty Heyn and Charlie Cummins of Tampa both earn first team accolades for a third time. Nick Wynne of Florida Tech earns his second first team award. Player of the Year: Conor Whipple, Tampa Freshman of the Year: Dryden Brous, Lynn Coach of the Year: Rory Whipple, Tampa
2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC First Team
Attack Andrew Kew^ Tampa So. Oakville, Ontario
Attack Conor Whipple*~+ Tampa Sr. Tampa, Florida
Attack Nick Wynne~@ Florida Tech Sr. Sykesville, Maryland
Midfielder Logan Sweeney Florida Tech So. Sykesville, Maryland
Midfielder Chris Vetter Tampa Sr. Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Midfielder Michael Urso Lynn So. Boynton Beach, Florida
LSM Addison Abramson Florida Tech So. Reisterstown, Maryland
SSDM Grant Hughes Florida Tech Sr. Windemere, Florida
FOGO Sam Watts Tampa Jr. Buffalo, New York
FOGO Dryden Brous Lynn Fr. Ocean City, Maryland
Defense Marty Heyn~+ Tampa Sr. Gaitherburg, Maryland
Defense Jake Bye Saint Leo Jr. Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Defense Charlie Cummins*~ Tampa Sr. Penfield, New York
Goalie Dan Flock Florida Tech So. Ellicott, Maryland
2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Second Team
Attack Greg Taicher Rollins So. Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Attack Jake Gilmour* Saint Leo Jr. Pickering, Ontario
Attack Kyle Pauwels Saint Leo Jr. Kamloops, British Columbia
Midfielder Tyler Kopen Florida Southern Sr. Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Midfielder Anthony Visintin Saint Leo Jr. Wading River, New York
Midfielder Jake Mosher McGraw Tampa Fr. Saint John, New Brunswick
LSM Austen Lison* Florida Southern So. Leesburg, Virgina
SSDM Lucas Brush^ Rollins Jr. Dublin, Ohio
SSDM Jack Tyrrell Tampa So. Medford, New Jersey
FOGO Lance Pavlina Florida Tech Jr. Desert Vista, Arizona
FOGO Austin DiPietro Saint Leo Fr. Clermont, Florida
Defense Austin Jackson Rollins Jr. Dublin, Ohio
Defense Luke Posner Tampa Jr. Madisonville, Louisiana
Defense Tom Filipow*= Florida Tech Sr. Fairfield, New Jersey
Goalie Tom Tatarian Saint Leo So. Shoreham, New York
2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Honorable Mention
FOGO Jeff Phelps Florida Southern So. Springfield, Virginia
Attack Cody Dyer^%@ Florida Southern Sr. Slingerlands, New York
2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Freshman Team
FOGO Dryden Brous Lynn Fr. Ocean City, Maryland
Midfielder Jake Mosher McGraw Tampa Fr. Saint John, New Brunswick
FOGO Austin DiPietro Saint Leo Fr. Clermont, Florida
Midfielder Blake Buell Rollins Fr. Dallas, Texas
Attack Bryan Wright Tampa Fr. Moorestown, New Jersey
LSM Ethan Ticehurst Saint Leo Fr. Coquitlam, British Columbia
Midfielder Kevin Dyer Florida Southern Fr. Slingerlands, New York
Midfielder Reid Chaconas Florida Tech Fr. Westminster, Maryland
Midfielder Matt Shand Saint Leo Fr. Whitby, Ontario
SSDM Bryce Johnson Florida Tech Fr. Iamsville, Maryland
Attack Eric NeCamp Rollins Fr. Powell, Ohio
Midfielder Devin Sparks Saint Leo Fr. Lagro, Indiana
Midfielder Adam Utter Florida Southern Fr. Temecula, California
* = 2016 First Team ^ = 2016 Second Team % = 2016 Honorable Mention ~ = 2015 First Team = = 2015 Second Team # = 2015 Honorable Mention + = 2014 First Team