2019 ALL-SSC Women’s Lacrosse Awards

  via the SSC web site   MELBOURNE, Fla. – Thirty-five student-athletes are recognized as All-Conference in the fifth year of Sunshine State Conference women’s lacrosse. Claire Swanson of the University of Tampa is awarded Player of the Year honors, while UT’s Kelly Gallagher repeats as Coach of the Year. Patricia Werker from Florida Southern College takes home Freshman of the Year accolades. Voting for the All-SSC Women’s Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league’s head coaches. All-SSC History: SSC Players and Coaches of the Year | All-SSC Teams Swanson played in 17 games at midfield for Tampa in 2019, tallying 60 points from 46 goals and 14 assists with a .554 shooting percentage. The Cheyenne, Wyoming native also provided the Spartans with 137 draw controls, 39 ground balls, and 24 caused turnovers. The sophomore ranks first in conference draw controls per game (8.06) and is Top-10 in SSC points per game (3.53) and goals per game (2.71). Swanson is the first Tampa women’s lacrosse athlete to earn Player of the Year honors. Werker started 14 games in goal for Florida Southern, accumulating 650 minutes between the pipes this season. The Nesconset, New York product recorded 75 saves and allowed 93 goals for a .446 save percentage in 2019. Her 8.58 goals against average helped the Moccasins secure an 11-2 record while she was in net. Among conference goalkeepers, she ranks third in goals against average (8.58) and fifth in save percentage (.446). Werker is the second FSC women’s lacrosse athlete to win Freshman of the Year1 accolades. Gallagher repeats as Coach of the Year following Tampa’s 2019 SSC tournament championship and share of the regular season title. In her sixth year leading the Spartans program, Gallagher led her team to a 14-3 overall record, the No. 4 IWLCA ranking, and six wins over Top-20 teams. Gallagher remains the first from Tampa to be honored as Coach of the Year and is the  second coach to win the award twice2. Rollins’ Kallie German and Lindsay Van Beck highlight the 2019 list of repeat All-SSC winners. German and Van Beck become the second and third women’s lacrosse athletes to earn First Team honors four times3. Florida Tech’s Olivia Going wins her third straight First Team award, while her teammate Samantha Schiano along with Sam Keesey of Florida Southern and Tampa’s Alexa Scudillo & Bridget Sutter repeat as First Team from 2018. In total, 16 of 26 upperclassmen award winners from this year repeat as an All-SSC selection. Player of the Year: Claire Swanson, Tampa Freshman of the Year: Patricia Werker, Florida Southern Coach of the Year: Kelly Gallagher, Tampa –
2019 Women’s Lacrosse All-SSC First Team
Attack Kallie German*^•# Rollins Sr. Centreville, Maryland
Attack Riley Bannatyne Florida Southern Jr. Maitland, Florida
Attack Kristyn Staley Tampa So. Middletown, Maryland
Attack Carly Vaccaro Tampa Jr. Mooresville, North Carolina
Attack Hannah Ashton~† Rollins Jr. Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Attack Leslie Ferguson~ Saint Leo Sr. Marietta, Georgia
Midfield Claire Swanson~† Tampa Jr. Cheyenne, Wyoming
Midfield Samantha Schiano*†• Florida Tech Sr. Perry Hall, Maryland
Midfield Dani Bursinger~† Florida Southern Sr. Powell, Ohio
Midfield Caroline Forester Tampa Sr. Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Midfield McKenzie Jackson* Embry-Riddle So. Bowie, Maryland
Defense Sam Keesey* Florida Southern Sr. Bel Air, Maryland
Defense Lindsay Van Beck*^• Rollins Sr. Atlanta, Georgia
Defense Alexa Scudillo* Tampa Jr. Millstone, New Jersey
Defense Olivia Going*^ Florida Tech Jr. West Islip, New York
Defense Ashley Salvett Saint Leo Jr. Clay, New York
Goalie Bridget Sutter*@ Tampa So. Evergreen, Colorado
2019 Women’s Lacrosse All-SSC Second Team
Attack Aubriana Benedetto Florida Southern Sr. Rochester, New York
Attack Marina Jozokos~ Florida Southern Jr. Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Attack Mya Watson~ Embry-Riddle So. Fruit Cove, Florida
Attack Rachel Crawford* Tampa Sr. Arnold, Maryland
Attack Mollie Kaplan Florida Tech Jr. Boca Raton, Florida
Attack Maggie Gladden Tampa Jr. Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Midfield Lily Rizk~† Rollins Jr. Columbus, Ohio
Midfield Brenna Smith Florida Southern Fr. Columbus, Ohio
Midfield Elizabeth Ninesling Embry-Riddle Fr. Allentown, Pennsylvania
Midfield Delaney Chrisco Saint Leo Jr. Wilmington, Delaware
Midfield Maliah Benedetto Florida Southern So. Rochester, New York
Defense Danielle Waters Tampa Fr. Smithtown, New York
Defense Becca Hill Florida Southern Jr. Lutherville, Maryland
Defense Abby Coccagna~ Tampa Sr. Baltimore, Maryland
Defense Brittney Embree~ Florida Tech Sr. Orlando, Florida
Defense Kaitlin Prince~ Rollins Sr. Scarborough, Maine
Goalie Patricia Werker Florida Southern Fr. Nesconset, New York
Goalie Erin Davis Saint Leo Jr. Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
– * = 2018 First Team               ~ = 2018 Second Team         @ = 2018 Freshman of the Year ^ = 2017 First Team               † = 2017 Second Team         • = 2016 First Team # = 2015 Freshman of the Year – 1 Ashley Seborowski was Co-Freshman of the Year in 2015 2 Corinne Desrosiers, Florida Tech (2016 & 2017) 3 The first to earn four First Team honors was Sara Grenier of Florida Tech (2015-18)