All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Selections for 2019


via the SSC web site


MELBOURNE, Fla. – [PDF] – Forty-six student-athletes have been recognized as All-Conference in the sixth year of Sunshine State Conference men’s lacrosse. Lynn University, regular season champions, boasts nine All-SSC awards including Coach of the Year. Voting for the All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league’s head coaches.

All-SSC History: SSC Players and Coaches of the Year | All-SSC Teams

Shortly after becoming the NCAA Division II leader in career goals, the University of Tampa’s Andrew Kew has been voted SSC Player of the Year by conference coaches. In 15 games for the Spartans, Kew tallied 81 points from 50 goals and 31 assists with a .365 shooting percentage. The senior attackman from Oakville, Ontario is the SSC leader in goals per game (3.33) and points per game (5.40) and is second in assists per game (2.07) and shots per game (9.13). Kew becomes the second Tampa athlete to be named league Player of the Year1.

Gunner Gebelein from Palm Beach Atlantic University is awarded Freshman of the Year honors after starting in 16 games for the Sailfish this season. The Huntingtown, Maryland product shone brightly on the defensive end for PBA, ranking first in conference caused turnovers per game (2.44) and eighth in ground balls per game (5.25). Gebelein is the first male athlete from PBA to be named Freshman of the Year in the SSC2, the first Sailfish to earn an individual award in lacrosse, and the first freshman defensive player to earn First Team All-SSC honors3.

SSC coaches select Lynn’s Brian Kingsbury as the 2019 SSC Coach of the Year. The first and only head coach of the Fighting Knights earns the honor after guiding the program to its first-ever double-digit win season (11-3). Under Kingsbury’s leadership, the Fighting Knights have risen to the No. 15 team in the USILA national poll, won their first SSC regular-season title, and will host in the conference postseason tournament. The honor is the second of his Kingsbury’s career4.

Kew highlights the repeat All-SSC award winners as he receives his fourth consecutive conference award, which includes three straight First Team selections. Those athletes earning First or Second Team accolades for the third time in their careers are Jake Mosher McGraw (Tampa), Austen Lison (Florida Southern College), Dryden Brous (Lynn), Thomas Tatarian (Saint Leo University), and Logan Sweeney (Florida Tech). In total, 15 of this year’s 32 upperclassmen award winners repeat as an All-SSC selection.

Player of the Year: Andrew Kew, Tampa
Freshman of the Year: Gunner Gebelein, Palm Beach Atlantic
Coach of the Year: Brian Kingsbury, Lynn

2019 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC First Team
ATT Andrew Kew*~& Tampa Sr. Oakville, Ontario
ATT Charlie Kurtenbach^ Saint Leo Sr. Issaquah, Washington
ATT Phil Buque Saint Leo Jr. Whitby, Ontario
MID Reid Chaconas^ Florida Tech Jr. Westminster, Maryland
MID Xander Cosenza Lynn So. Bay Shore, New York
MID Jake Mosher McGraw*+ Tampa Jr. Saint John, New Brunswick
LSM Austen Lison@+ Florida Southern Sr. Leesburg, Virginia
FO Ross Dickerson* Tampa Jr. Berlin, Maryland
FO Dryden Brous*~% Lynn Jr. Ocean City, Maryland
DEF Evan Schimek^ Rollins Sr. Fort Lauderdale, Florida
DEF Jack Tyrrell Tampa Sr. Medford, New Jersey
DEF Gunner Gebelein Palm Beach Atlantic Fr. Huntingtown, Maryland
GOAL Thomas Tatarian*+ Saint Leo Gr. Shoreham, New York
SSDM Julian Taylor^ Saint Leo Sr. Tampa, Florida
SSDM Roy Hansen Rollins Sr. Medford, New Jersey
2019 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Second Team
ATT Jeff Atlas Florida Southern Fr. Islip, New York
ATT Ryan Dunn Rollins Jr. Ridgefield, Connecticut
ATT Greg Taicher@+ Rollins Sr. Berwyn, Pennsylvania
MID Nick McCabe Lynn So. Boca Raton, Florida
MID Kyle Silverstein Florida Southern Sr. Smithtown, New York
MID Logan Sweeney*+ Florida Tech Sr. Sykesville, Maryland
LSM Ethan Ticehurst^ Saint Leo Jr. Coquitlam, British Columbia
FO Ryan Land Florida Tech Sr. Ellicott City, Maryland
DEF Evan Kalish Lynn Sr. Vero Beach, Florida
DEF Greg Morissette Lynn Sr. Woodstock, Ontario
DEF Luke Robideaux Tampa Sr. Lafayette, Louisiana
DEF Collin Beck Saint Leo Jr. North East, Maryland
GOAL Colin McClelland Lynn Jr. Ellicott City, Maryland
SSDM Dan Luette Lynn So. Orlando, Florida
SSDM Gavin Perry Tampa Sr. Raynham, Massachusetts
2019 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Honorable Mention
ATT Matt Vetter Tampa Sr. Doylestown, Pennsylvania
LSM Addison Abramson*~ Florida Tech Sr. Reisterstown, Maryland
DEF Wyatt Todd Rollins Jr. Randolph, New Jersey
GOAL Daniel Flock^~ Florida Tech Sr. Ellicott City, Maryland
SSDM Tyler Oblong Florida Tech Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
2019 Men’s Lacrosse All-SSC Freshman Team
ATT Jeff Atlas Florida Southern Fr. Islip, New York
DEF Gunner Gebelein Palm Beach Atlantic Fr. Huntingtown, Maryland
ATT Sean Nolan Florida Southern Fr. Westchester, New York
ATT Coleman Jacobs Embry-Riddle Fr. Orchard Park, New York
ATT Tyler Eames Saint Leo Fr. Whitby, Ontario
MID Mitch Cody Embry-Riddle Fr. Milwaukee, Wisconsin
ATT Caleb Wells Lynn Fr. Woodstock, Ontario
ATT Harry Kilkowski Tampa Fr. Summit, New Jersey
SSDM Rob Champigny Rollins Fr. East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
GOAL Will Eckert Rollins Fr. Bristow, Virginia
SSDM Peyton Tyson Saint Leo Fr. Spanish Fort, Alabama
FO Cam Reeves Rollins Fr. Dallas, Texas
ATT Jared Kane Embry-Riddle Fr. Jacksonville, Florida

* = 2018 First Team
^ = 2018 Second Team
@ = 2018 Honorable Mention
% = 2017 Freshman of the Year
~ = 2017 First Team
+ = 2017 Second Team
& = 2016 Freshman of the Year

= 2016 First Team
= 2016 Second Team

Tampa’s Conor Whipple earned Player of the Year in 2014, 2016, & 2017
2 Earlier this year, Molly Rowoldt became the first from PBA to be named SSC Freshman of the Year (volleyball)
3Freshman First Teamers: 2016: Dryden Brous (Lynn); 2017: Austen Lison (FSC); 2014: Conor Whipple (Tampa), CJ Nichols (Florida Tech), Jake Vonarb (Rollins)
Kingsbury was named SSC Coach of the Year in 2015
Including Kew, Gebelein, and Brous, 11 other First Team, Second Team, and Honorable Mention athletes have been named to the Freshman of the Year team during their career