Skip to main content

ASun Women’s Conference Awards – JU & Stetson

  via ASun press releases   LIST OF ALL CONFERENCE PLAYERS   ATLANTA, Ga. – For the second time in conference history, the postseason awards featured two Players of the Year, as Coastal Carolina’s Haley Alexander and Kennesaw State’s Siena Gore tied for the league’s top honor. Coastal’s goalie Harley Barrett captured her second-straight ASUN Defensive Player of the Year honor to highlight Wednesday’s night awards banquet. Jacksonville’s Dayna Martinetto was voted the ASUN Freshman of the Year after bursting onto the scene, with JU’s Mindy McCord Coach of the Year accolades for the fourth time in her career.     Alexander collects her first career ASUN Player of the Year honor after a brilliant senior season. The Bel Air, Md. native led the Chanticleers in scoring with 69 points on 51 goals and 18 assists. During the season, she became Coastal’s all-time leading scorer in goals and points. Her 51 goals rank second in the league, while she also sits in the top 10 for points, shots, shooting percentage, shots on goal, free-position goals and draw controls. She leads the Chanticleers into the ASUN Championship as the three seed after finishing the season with an overall record of 12-5. After capturing 2018 Freshman of the Year and 2019 Preseason Player of the Year, Kennesaw State’s Siena Gore takes home Player of the Year honors as the first player from Kennesaw State to do so. The sophomore midfielder scored a league-high 67 goals this season, a top-10 mark across the NCAA. Gore paced the ASUN with 91 draw controls as well, adding 34 ground balls to go along with that. The only player in the ASUN to record at least 20 free position goals this season, she scored seven such goals in ASUN action to lead the Owls to the fourth seed in the upcoming ASUN Championship. Barrett returns to the winner’s podium as Defensive Player of the Year after winning the award last season with the Chanticleers. Barrett topped the league in save percentage, stopping 50% of the shots that came her way this season en route to 141 saves that ranked fourth in the ASUN. Holding every major goalkeeping record in CCU history, Barrett sits just 25 saves away from breaking 500 in her storied career. Her play in net guided the Chants to 12 wins on the season and the third seed in the ASUN Championship. Dayna Martinetto becomes the first Jacksonville player to win Freshman of the Year honors since the ASUN’s first year sponsoring Women’s Lacrosse in 2013 when Kelsey Wiglesworth was named co-winner. The freshman goalkeeper stepped right into success with the Dolphins, leading her team to a 14-3 record and an outright ASUN Regular Season title. Her 45.4 save percentage ranked third in the conference while she totaled 107 saves. Throughout the year, the New York native had five contests in which she allowed three or less goals including one shutout vs. Howard. Mindy McCord was voted the Coach of the Year by her peers for the fourth time in her career. McCord led Jacksonville to a 14-3 record overall while claiming an outright ASUN Regular Season title for the sixth time in the last seven years.