Skip to main content

MLL: 2018 MLL Collegiate Draft to be Hosted at US Lacrosse Headquarters

  via MLL press release  
BOSTON (March 1, 2018) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced today the 2018 MLL Collegiate Draft will be held Wednesday, April 18 at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Md. “Every year the Collegiate Draft is one of the most anticipated events on the MLL calendar, and we are very grateful to US Lacrosse for hosting us in their beautiful new facility,” MLL Commissioner Alexander Brown said. “As we are partnering with US Lacrosse for our All-Star Game this season, we are very excited by our collaboration on the draft.” US Lacrosse broke ground on the state-of-the-art compound in 2015 and moved operations there in May of 2016. The $15 million facility includes a training center for the men’s and women’s U.S. national teams in addition to the three-story administrative center, the National Hall of Fame and Museum and Tierney Field. “We’re thrilled by the opportunity to host this year’s MLL Collegiate Draft at our new headquarters,” said US Lacrosse CEO Steve Stenersen. “This is another step in what we believe will be a much more collaborative relationship between US Lacrosse and MLL.” The scheduled date in April marks a first for the league. 11 of the 17 drafts in MLL history were held at the conclusion of the NCAA schedule, while six drafts from 2011 to 2016 were held in January. The 2018 draft will be the first held while the collegiate season is in progress. MLL and US Lacrosse will also partner for the 2018 MLL All-Star Game at Harvard Stadium on June 28 when the MLL All-Stars faceoff against Team USA, marking the team’s final test before the 2018 FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Netanya, Israel. The Boston Cannons will have the first-overall selection while the Atlanta Blaze have three of the first 11 picks. About Major League Lacrosse Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. MLL has led the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards and Ohio Machine. About US Lacrosse US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing team sport. US Lacrosse coordinates all activities of the U.S. National Teams Program, and has more than 450,000 members in 67 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the sport.