Skip to main content

J.B. Clarke, Ryan Sullivan Honored as National Coaches of the Year

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in , , , .

via Tampa press release

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Following a run in the 2022 NCAA Championships that resulted in the program’s first-ever national championship, University of Tampa head coach J.B. Clarke and assistant coach Ryan Sullivan were recognized by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association as its Coaches of the Year for NCAA Division II.

Clarke, a four-time national champion, guided the Spartans to a perfect 21-0 season in 2022. He coaches his players to several accolades, including National Player of the Year and Defender of the Year Matthew Beddow, National Goalkeeper of the Year Blake Ulmer and National Long Pole Midfielder of the Year Sean Nizolek.

Serving as the recruiting coordinator and defensive coordinator for the national champions, Sullivan is recognized as the nation’s top assistant coach. In his sixth year with the Spartans, he led a unit that ranked in the NCAA national top-10 in scoring defense, man-down defense, saves and scoring margin. The Spartans were first in the nation in saves, and second in man-down defense.