Skip to main content

Premier Lacrosse League Announces Washington, D.C. as the Host of the 2023 Championship Series

via PLL press release

LOS ANGELES, CA (November 16, 2022) – The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster has announced that The St. James in Springfield, VA will host the 2023 Championship Series from February 22nd to 26th.

Archers LC, Atlas LC, Chrome LC, and Whipsnakes LC will travel 12-man rosters to The St. James. Each club will play three round-robin games from Wednesday to Friday to determine seeding for the semifinals on Saturday. Winners will advance to the Championship on Sunday, February 26th.

“We’re thrilled to bring the 2023 Championship Series to Paul’s and my hometown – the DMV,” said Co-Founder and CEO Michael Rabil. “The St. James has been a cooperative and collaborative partner as we look to build unique seating options tailored specifically to the fan experience.”

Games will be played in the fast-paced Olympics format, including four 8-minute quarters on a 70-by-36-meter field. There will be a 30-second shot clock for each team’s possession. Instead of taking faceoffs after goals are scored, goalies will restart play immediately with a clear. The 2023 Championship Series will also feature a 13-yard 2-point arc.

“The fastest game on two feet is even faster in Sixes format,” said Co-Founder and President Paul Rabil. “On a shorter field, the pace of play, athleticism and skill will be on display like never before. This version of the game is the same discipline you’ll see should lacrosse get into the Olympics in LA 2028. It’s internationally adopted, high scoring and action-packed.”

“The PLL’s incredibly innovative approach to building world class player and fan experiences has been exciting and inspiring,” said Kendrick Ashton, co-founder and co-CEO of The St. James. “We’re excited to partner with the PLL to bring dynamic, new experiences for lacrosse fans and players throughout the Washington region for years to come.”

“Events DC is honored to continue our partnership with the Premier Lacrosse League as host of the inaugural Championship Series,” said Ralph Morton, senior vice president and managing director, Sports and Entertainment Division at Events DC. “Both the PLL and the game of lacrosse at all levels continue to thrive and grow across the national capital region. Our passionate fans are sure to enjoy the fast-paced Sixes format of the Championship Series next year.”

For more information on the Championship Series, visit


The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) powered by Ticketmaster is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of 8 teams rostered by the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the PLL is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, The Chernin Group, Arctos Sports Partners, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), The Kraft Group, Bolt Capital and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL is distributed through an exclusive media rights agreement with ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPN+. The PLL was recognized by Front Office Sports’ 2021 Best Employers in Sports. For more on the league, visit and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague), YouTube ( and TikTok (@pll).