Skip to main content

All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Selections Announced for 2016, Conor Whipple Player of the Year

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release   MELBOURNE, Fla. – University of Tampa, Sunshine State Conference Regular Season Champions, boasts 14 All-SSC awards. In all, 43 men’s lacrosse student-athletes were recognized in the third year of Sunshine State Conference men’s lacrosse. Voting for the All-SSC Men’s Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league’s head coaches. Tampa sweeps the 2016 men’s lacrosse individual awards. Conor Whipple is named Player of the Year, Andrew Kew earns Freshman of the Year, and Rory Whipple is awarded Coach of the Year. Conor Whipple takes Player of the Year for the second time in his career. The Tampa native was also named Player of the Year in his freshman campaign (2014). Whipple leads the SSC in points during 2016 with 82, averaging 1.4 PPG above than the next highest player. Whipple also ranks first in Assists per Game (2.86), and is second in Shots per Game (8.14) and third in Goals per Game (3.69). Kew scored 47 times to lead the Tampa Spartans and was second in SSC scoring in 2016. The Oakville, Ontario native finished fifth in SSC Points per Game (3.71) and Shots per Game (7.57). SSC coaches voted Rory Whipple Coach of the Year after a 12-2 mark in 2016. Whipple has compiled a 43-9 overall record in the last three seasons. He is undefeated in SSC play since men’s lacrosse was adopted as a league sport in 2014. Whipple was also named SSC Coach of the Year in 2014. Whipple repeats a first team honoree for the third consecutive year. Dylan Yonts (Saint Leo) and Charlie Cummins (Tampa) repeat as first team members from 2015. Chad Marino (Saint Leo) and Tom Filipow (Florida Tech) move up from the second team to first in 2016. Player of the Year: Conor Whipple, Tampa Freshman of the Year: Andrew Kew, Tampa Coach of the Year: Rory Whipple, Tampa  
2016 First Team All-SSC
Name Position School Year Hometown
Conor Whipple*~ Attack Tampa Jr. Tampa, Fla.
Dylan Yonts*+ Attack Saint Leo Sr. Penn Yan, N.Y.
Brian Bacarella Attack Florida Tech Sr. Trumbull, Conn.
Jake Gilmour Attack Saint Leo So. Pickering, Ontario
Jake Schmidt Midfielder Tampa Sr. Rochester, N.Y.
Lucas Claude Midfielder Florida Southern So. Calgary, Alberta
Chad Marino^ Midfielder Saint Leo Sr. Mt. Sinai, N.Y.
Morgan Baker Midfielder Rollins Sr. Dummerston, Vt.
Austen Lison LSM Florida Southern Fr. Leesburg, Va.
Tyler Novak SSDM Florida Southern Sr. Holbrook, N.Y.
Riley Piper SSDM Tampa Sr. West Chester, Pa.
Chris Lasprogata FOGO Lynn So. Ardmore, Pa.
Alex Pestos~ FOGO Rollins Sr. Allen, Texas
Charlie Cummins* Defense Tampa Jr. Penfield, N.Y.
Marty Heyn Defense Tampa Sr. Gaithersburg, Md.
Tom Filipow^ Defense Florida Tech Jr. Fairfield, N.J.
Matt Lalli Goalie Florida Southern Jr. New Milford, Conn.
2016 Second Team All-SSC
Name Position School Year Hometown
Cody Dyer%+ Attack Florida Southern Jr. Slingerlands, N.Y.
Austin Jerhoff Attack Lynn So. Calgary, Canada
Andrew Kew Attack Tampa Fr. Oakville, Ontario
Cody Gray Midfielder Florida Southern So. Riverview, Fla.
Jack Vonarb*~ Midfielder Rollins Jr. Thousand Oaks, Calif.
Matthew Bilak* Midfielder Tampa Sr. Penfield, N.Y.
AJ Ferraro LSM Tampa Fr. Parkland, Fla.
Lucas Brush SSDM Rollins So. Dublin, Ohio
Will Cothron*~ FOGO Saint Leo Sr. Ocala, Fla.
Alex Patton FOGO Tampa So. West Hempstead, N.Y.
Tyler Vadas Defense Saint Leo Sr. Jensen Beach, Fla.
Ian Magnan Defense Lynn So. Pine Falls, Manitoba
Connor McClellan Defense Rollins Jr. Orlando, Fla.
AJ Arnold Goalie Tampa Jr. Southborough, Mass.
2016 Freshman Team
Name Position School Year Hometown
Andrew Kew Attack Tampa Fr. Oakville, Ontario
Justin Robinson Midfielder Saint Leo Fr. Pickering, Ontario
Mike Urso Attack Lynn Fr. Boynton Beach, Fla.
AJ Ferraro LSM Tampa Fr. Parkland, Fla.
Austen Lison LSM Florida Southern Fr. Leesburg, Va.
Nick Gutmann Midfielder Florida Southern Fr. Sachem, N.Y.
Tyler Covey Attack Florida Tech Fr. Westminster, Md.
Will Doyle Goalie Rollins Fr. Lloyd Harbor, N.Y.
Cody Bartusiak LSM Lynn Fr. Arvada, Colo.
Travis Quillin Defender Lynn Fr. Sharptown, Md.
Addison Abramson LSM Florida Tech Fr. Reisterstown, Md.
Charlie Kurtenbach Midfielder Saint Leo Fr. Issaquah, Wash.
Joe Biondi Jr. FOGO Florida Southern Fr. Orange, Conn.
2016 Honorable Mention
Name Position School Year Hometown
Dusten Peterson Defense Florida Southern So. Chetermere, Alberta
Travis Wunder*# FOGO Florida Tech Jr. Westminster, Md.
* = 2015 First Team ^ = 2015 Second Team % = 2015 Honorable Mention ~ = 2014 First Team + = 2014 Second Team # = 2014 Honorable Mention