Skip to main content

Breaking: Casey Powell Among 9 Selections for USL’s National Hall of Fame!

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release   Excerpt: The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame announces the addition of nine new inductees as the Class of 2017, following approval by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. The newest members will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, September 23, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md. The 2017 inductees are: Doug Knight, Leslie Blankin Lane, Jim McDonald, Laurette Payette, Casey Powell, Jill Johnson Redfern, Brooks Sweet, Robyn Nye Wood, and Don Zimmerman. Tickets for the 2017 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, sponsored by RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company, will be available to the public for purchase beginning August 1. Tickets will be sold online at The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Maryland.   Casey Powell Powell will be inducted as a truly great player. Powell was a four-time collegiate All-American at Syracuse University, earning first team honors in 1996, 1997 and 1988 and second team honors in 1995. Additionally, he was a two-time winner of the Raymond Enners Award as the national player of the year in 1997 and 1998, as well as the national midfielder of the year in 1996 and the national attackman of the year in 1998. He was named to the NCAA’s All-Tournament team four times, including 1995 when Syracuse won the national championship. Powell ranks second in Syracuse history with 287 career points. Powell played on the U.S. Men’s World Championship Team in 1998 and 2006, earning the gold as a member of ’98 squad. He also had a legendary professional career, playing for six different teams during a 14-year career in Major League Lacrosse. He ranks second in league history with 527 career points, and was the MLL’s MVP in 2014. He also earned All-Pro honors as an indoor player four times, including the NLL’s MVP award in 2010.   All of us at FLN and the greater Florida lacrosse community congratulate Casey for this wonderful honor!