Former PV Standout Eric Applegate Named to SoCon All Freshman Team!

Written on . Posted in .
via press release   SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Jacksonville University’s men’s lacrosse team received three all-conference honors, headlined by Dakota Rohlin‘s selection to the All-SoCon First Team, the league office announced Tuesday. Ben Gleichenhaus was named to the Southern Conference’s second team while Eric Applegate was tabbed all-freshman.   Eric applegate 2016 Jacksonville Pic   With a team-high 19 goals, Rohlin was a natural first-team selection. The senior midfielder and captain started in 12 of the Dolphins’ 13 games this season and currently ranks third on the program’s all-time list in both points and goals. He finished the year leading the SoCon in man-up goals (2), and was ranked eighth in total goals (19), and fourth in shots (81). Gleichenhaus leads the nation with an average of 13.69 saves per game and ranks 16th with a .558 save percentage. The Cherry Hills Village, Colo., native started all 13 games in goal, logging over 770 minutes. Applegate represents Jacksonville on the All-Freshman Team after an inaugural campaign where he scored 15 goals with eight assists. Totaling 23 points on the season, he finished third on the team. Applegate also added 11 ground balls and three caused turnovers. 2016 SoCon Men’s Lacrosse Awards Offensive Player of the Year Chris Walsch, Air Force, So., A Defensive Player of the Year Doug Gouchoe, Air Force, Sr., GK Freshman of the Year Brandon Jones, Air Force, D Coach of the Year Eric Seremet, Air Force All-SoCon First Team (four attackers and midfielders due to ties in voting) A – Chris Walsch, Air Force, So. A – Dan Lomas, High Point, Sr. A – Matt Thistle, High Point, Sr. A – Wesley Sanders, VMI, So. M – Christopher Allen, Air Force, Sr. M – Tucker Ciessau, Bellarmine, Jr. M – Dakota Rohlin, Jacksonville, Sr. M – Alex Hatem, Richmond, Sr. D – Alex Warden, Air Force, Sr. D – Zack Price, High Point, Jr. D – Brendan Hynes, Richmond, Jr. GK – Doug Gouchoe, Air Force, Sr. FO – Josh Radjenovich, Air Force, So. LSM – Taylor Stuart, Bellarmine, Sr. All-SoCon Second Team (two goalkeepers due to tie in voting) A – Michael LeClair, High Point, Jr. A – Chris Baxa, Mercer, Sr. A – Mitch Goldberg, Richmond, Jr. M – Andrew Tien, Air Force, So. M – Dallas Bridle, High Point, Jr. M – Jean-Luc Chetner, Richmond, Jr. D – Brandon Jones, Air Force, Fr. D – Kevin Fahey, Bellarmine, Jr. D – Ryan Dennis, Richmond, Jr. GK – Ben Gleichenhaus, Jacksonville, So. GK – Mike Nugent, Mercer, Sr. FO – Connor Harryman, Bellarmine, So. LSM – Austin Cates, Richmond, So. All-Freshman Team Brandon Jones, Air Force, D Tim Troutner, Jr., High Point, GK Eric Applegate, Jacksonville, M Lucas Wittenberg, Mercer, M Teddy Hatfield, Richmond, A Kyle Walsh, VMI, D