Skip to main content

UF: Trio of Gators Named Tewaaraton Top-25 Nominees!

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
via press release – photo via UF web site   GAINESVILLE, Fla. – University of Florida seniors Sammi Burgess, Caroline Fitzgerald, and Mollie Stevens are three of 25 female student-athletes still in contention for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The nominees for lacrosse’s highest honor were narrowed on Thursday to a list of 25 and announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The Tewaaraton Award is given annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation to the most outstanding men’s and women’s American college lacrosse player. The 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held June 1, 2017, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian. Five men’s and women’s finalists will be announced on May 11 and invited to the ceremony. Most recently, former Gator great Nicole Graziano was a finalist for the award as a midfielder in 2016. In the eight-year history of Florida lacrosse, 13 Gators have been honored as a Tewaaraton Award nominee, with four finalists. Florida has had a top-five finalist each year since 2012. Burgess, Fitzgerald, Stevens, and the No. 2-ranked Gators are enjoying a remarkable season, maintaining a 14-2 record with a perfect 8-0 mark in BIG EAST play. Florida has clinched at least a share of its seventh consecutive conference title, and will look to win the BIG EAST outright on Saturday, April 29, against the Georgetown Hoyas. Attacker Sammi Burgess
  • 2017 Tewaaraton Award Top-25 Nominee
  • Set the UF single-season record for assists (32) in 14 games
  • Only the second Gator to have a season with at least 30 points and 30 assists
  • Became the fifth Gator to break 200 career points (212)
  • Has scored a point in 40 consecutive games, the second-longest streak in school history
  • Recorded an assist in 15 consecutive games, a school record
  • Tied the UF record for single-game assists, (4), three times this season
  • Scored a career-high seven points at No. 16 Towson
  • Enjoying career-highs in assists (35), points (67), and ground balls (30)
Defender Caroline Fitzgerald
  • 2017 Tewaaraton Award Top-25 Nominee
  • Two-time BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week
  • Florida’s all-time leader in ground balls (143)
  • Tied the UF single-game record with five caused turnovers at Marquette
  • Ranks No. 2 all-time at Florida with 82 caused turnovers in her career
  • Notable marks this season include:
  • Marie McCool, North Carolina
  • Michaela Michael, USC
  • Nicole Levy, Syracuse
Attacker Mollie Stevens
  • 2017 Tewaaraton Award Top-25 Nominee
  • Three-time BIG EAST Attacker of the Week
  • Set the UF single-season record for draw controls (84) in just 15 games
  • Currently leads the Gators in goals (47), ground balls (41), and draw controls (92)
  • Set the Florida single-game record for draw controls with 11 at Jacksonville
  • Alpha Lacrosse National Player of the Week (2/28)
  • Scored a career-high seven goals in a win over No. 7 Stony Brook
  • Enjoying career-highs in goals (47), assists (14), ground balls (41), draw controls (92), and caused turnovers (20)
Tewaaraton Award Top-25 Nominees: SAMMI BURGESS, Florida – Sr., Attack CAROLINE FITZGERALD, Florida – Sr., Defense MOLLIE STEVENS, Florida – Sr., Attack Sam Apuzzo, Boston College – Soph., Attack Madison Carter, Penn State – Soph., Attack Alex Condon, Penn – Jr., Midfield Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton – Sr., Goalie Riley Donahue, Syracuse –  Jr., Attack Erica Evans, Canisius – Jr., Midfield Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland – Sr., Defense Molly Hendrick, North Carolina – Sr., Attack Olivia Hompe, Princeton – Sr., Attack Darby Kiernan, Colorado – Jr., Attack Steph Lazo, Penn State – Sr., Attack Sarah Martin, Albany – Sr., Midfield Marie McCool, North Carolina – Jr., Midfield Michaela Michael, USC – Sr., Attack Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook – Jr., Attack Catie Smith, Cornell – Sr., Defense Paige Soenksen, Colorado – Sr., Goalie Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland – Sr., Midfield Megan Taylor, Maryland – Soph., Goalie Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook – Sr., Midfield Megan Whittle, Maryland – Jr., Attack See the complete release from the Tewaaraton Foundation here.