MLL Appoints Buddy Rose as Director of Events


via MLL press release


BOSTON, MA – (October 17, 2018) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced today that Buddy Rose has been selected as its Director of Events. Rose will oversee all league events, such as the All-Star Game, Championship Weekend, the College Draft, the Rookie Symposium, the Honors Ceremony, and the Players’ Combine.

Rose is an accomplished sports professional with more than 14 years of experience in brand development, live events, and fan experiential development. In his career he has developed best-in-class live sporting event experiences and grown outreach experiences targeted to youth audiences.



“We are thrilled that Buddy is joining MLL,” said Alexander Brown, MLL Commissioner. “He brings the ability to create top of the line fan experiences to our league.”

For over six years, Rose worked with the Detroit Pistons and Palace Sports & Entertainment, most recently as the organization’s Director of Consumer Marketing. He created a high-revenue strategy for group ticket sales growth and built multiple successful marketing campaigns for both the team and the venue’s events. He also focused on growing the Pistons’ youth and community outreach, collaborating on the NBA’s Best Practice Youth Development structure and growing the Pistons’ youth outreach substantially via their Pistons Academy events and Jr. Pistons content.

Prior to his work in Detroit, Rose spent several years as a freelance event marketing consultant, working with Paramount Pictures, NASCAR, WWE, the NFL, and ATP/WTA Tour. On top of all of his valuable experience, Rose’s sports management career has lacrosse roots, having worked in marketing and operations for the Chicago (now Ohio) Machine.

Rose holds an M.A. in Sports Management from the University of San Francisco and a B.A. from Kent State University.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, is headquartered in Boston. MLL has led the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. In the spring of 2018, MLL entered into new leadership for the first time in 17 years when it selected Alexander Brown as the Commissioner. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, and Ohio Machine.

Additional League Info