Skip to main content

UF: LoPinto Earns Bid to Tewaaraton Watch List

via UF press release, by Katie Callahan

Florida has now had 19 players earn 37 Tewaaraton nominations

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Freshman attacked Emma LoPinto was named to the 2022 Tewaaraton Watch List through the second round of additions, as the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Friday.

LoPinto – a Manhasset, N.Y. native – is the first true freshman and second overall (Sarah Reznick – Redshirt Freshman, 2021) in program history to earn the honor in her rookie season.  

The 2022 season marks the 21st anniversary of the Tewaaraton award.

The freshman earned the distinction after scoring 49 points on 28 goals and 21 assists through Florida’s first 11 games of the season. She has recorded a hat trick in five games this season and has dished out multiple assists in six contests during the 2022 campaign.

LoPinto notched eight points on six goals and two assists in her collegiate debut against Kennesaw State. That marked the most goals scored by a Florida player in a season opener in program history and ties the program record for most goals scored by a freshman.

Her five assists against Liberty on March 9 were not only a career-high for LoPinto, but set a program record for assists in a game by a freshman. It also put her second overall in program history with six being the current team record.

LoPinto has a .549 shooting percentage and has also picked up eight groundballs and caused three turnovers.

For her efforts, she has earned five AAC Freshman of the Week honors, including one the past four consecutive weeks.


Emma LoPinto2022  
Danielle Pavinelli2022  
Sarah Reznick2021, 2022  
Shannon Kavanagh2019, 2020, 20212021
Cara Trombetta2019, 2020, 20212021
Lindsey Ronbeck2017, 2018, 20192018, 2019
Haley Hicklen2017, 2018, 20192018
Sydney Pirreca2018, 2019
Shayna Pirreca2017, 2018
Sammi Burgess20172017
Caroline Fitzgerald2016, 20172016, 2017
Mollie Stevens2016, 20172017
Taylor Bresnahan2017 
Nicole Graziano201620162016
Shannon Gilroy2013, 2014, 20152014, 20152014, 2015
Nora Barry2015
Kitty Cullen2011, 2012, 2013
Brittany Dashiell2012, 201320122012
Mikey Meagher201320132013

Players not named to this list will have opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses.

Five finalists will be announced in early May. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.

Follow the Gators: