Skip to main content

Wellington Wins District 23 Championship

Written by Lee Roggenburg on . Posted in .
The Wellington Wolverines captured their second consecutive District 23 Championship by defeating the Palm Beach Central Broncos 14-4. The leading scorers for Wellington were attackman Tyler Kuhlman (sr.) and Jason D’Aoust (jr) each contributing 4 goals and 2 assists. Patrick Oporto ( 3 goals 1 assist), Thomas Oporto ( 2 goals 2 assists), and Hunter Dietz ( 1 goal) also contributed offensively. A stingy Wellington defense held Central scoreless after the first quarter. The defense was led by goalie Logan Masta, defenders Ryan Smolchek, Bryce Dalton, Chris Englert, John Toohey and Adam Blum. The Wolverines will play district 24 winners St. Andrew’s Tuesday. Photo courtesy of Photos by Gene